Largest Countries in the World

Top 10 Largest Countries in the World

We are happy to see you here, if you're looking for Largest Countries in the World so we've compiled a list of Top 10 Largest Countries in the World.

The world largest countries contain mountain and valleys, rainforest and tundra, coastline and desert. There are more than 190 countries in the world with different cultures, languages, area and population. Few countries are larger in area as comparison to others.

So Here is the list of Top 10 Largest Countries in the World that everyone should read.


10. Algeria

Area: 2,381,741

Algeria, officially the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, is a country in the Maghreb (Northwest Africa) on the Mediterranean coast. With an area of 2,381,741 square kilometres (919,595 sq mi), Algeria is the tenth-largest country in the world, and the largest in Africa since South Sudan became independent from Sudan in 2011. Algeria is bordered to the northeast by Tunisia, to the east by Libya, to the west by Morocco, to the southwest by the Western Saharan territory, Mauritania, and Mali, to the southeast by Niger, and to the north by the Mediterranean Sea.


9. Kazakhstan

Area: 2,724,900

Kazakhstan, officially the Republic of Kazakhstan is the world's largest landlocked country, and the ninth largest in the world, with an area of 2,724,900 square kilometres (1,052,100 sq mi). It is a transcontinental country largely located in Asia, the most western parts are located in Europe. Kazakhstan is the dominant nation of Central Asia economically, generating 60% of the region's GDP, primarily through its oil/gas industry. It also has vast mineral resources. Kazakhstan shares borders with Russia, China, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, and Turkmenistan, and also adjoins a large part of the Caspian Sea.


8. Argentina

Area: 2,780,400

Argentina is a country located mostly in the southern half of South America. Sharing the bulk of the Southern Cone with Chile to the west, the country is also bordered by Bolivia and Paraguay to the north, Brazil to the northeast, Uruguay and the South Atlantic Ocean to the east, and the Drake Passage to the south. With a mainland area of 2,780,400 km2 (1,073,500 sq mi), Argentina is the eighth-largest country in the world, the fourth largest in the Americas, and the largest Spanish-speaking nation. Argentina has the second largest economy in South America, the third-largest in Latin America.


7. India

Area: 3,287,263

India also known as the Republic of India is a country in South Asia. With a mainland area of 3,287,263 km2 (1,269,219 sq mi), India is the seventh-largest country by area. Bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the southwest, and the Bay of Bengal on the southeast, it shares land borders with Pakistan to the west; China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the northeast; and Bangladesh and Myanmar to the east. In the Indian Ocean, India is in the vicinity of Sri Lanka and the Maldives, while its Andaman and Nicobar Islands share a maritime border with Thailand and Indonesia.


6. Australia

Area: 7,741,220

Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands. It is the largest country in Oceania and the world's sixth-largest country by total area. The neighbouring countries are Papua New Guinea, Indonesia and East Timor to the north; the Solomon Islands and Vanuatu to the north-east; and New Zealand to the south-east. Australia's capital is Canberra, and its largest city is Sydney. The country's other major metropolitan areas are Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide.


5. Brazil

Area: 8,514,877

Brazil officially the Federative Republic of Brazil is the largest country in both South America and Latin America. At 8.5 million square kilometers (3.2 million square miles), Brazil is the world's fifth-largest country. The federation is composed of the union of the 26 states, the Federal District, and the 5,570 municipalities. It is the largest country to have Portuguese as an official language and the only one in the Americas; it is also one of the most multicultural and ethnically diverse nations, due to over a century of mass immigration from around the world.


4. China

Area: 9,596,960

China, officially the People's Republic of China (PRC), is a country in East Asia Covering approximately 9,600,000 square kilometers (3,700,000 sq mi), it is the third- or fourth-largest country by total area, depending on the source consulted. Governed by the Communist Party of China, the state exercises jurisdiction over 22 provinces, five autonomous regions, four direct-controlled municipalities (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai, and Chongqing), and the special administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau.

United States

3. United States

Area: 9,826,675

The United States of America (USA), commonly known as the United States (US) or America, is a country composed of 50 states, a federal district, five major self-governing territories, and various possessions. At 9.8 million square miles (3.8 million km2), the United States is the world's third largest country by total area. The capital is Washington, Forty-eight states and the capital's federal district are contiguous in North America between Canada and Mexico. The State of Alaska is in the northwest corner of North America, bordered by Canada to the east and across the Bering Strait from Russia to the west. The U.S. territories are scattered about the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea, stretching across nine official time zones.


2. Canada

Area: 9,984,670

Canada is a country located in the northern part of North America. Its ten provinces and three territories extend from the Atlantic to the Pacific and northward into the Arctic Ocean, covering 9.98 million square kilometres (3.85 million square miles), making it the world's second-largest country by total area. Canada's southern border with the United States is the world's longest bi-national land border. Its capital is Ottawa. Canada's climate varies widely across its vast area, ranging from arctic weather in the north, to hot summers in the southern regions, with four distinct seasons.


1. Russia

Area: 17,098,242

Russia (officially the Russian Federation is a country in Eurasia). At 17,125,200 square kilometres (6,612,100 sq mi),Russia is the largest country in the world by area, covering more than one-eighth of the Earth's inhabited land area. Russia's capital, Moscow, is the largest metropolitan area in Europe. Extending across the entirety of Northern Asia and much of Eastern Europe, Russia spans eleven time zones and incorporates a wide range of environments and landforms. From northwest to southeast, Russia shares land borders with Norway, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland, Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, China, Mongolia and North Korea.

Also Read Related World Top 10